The Pender Canal separates North and South Pender island and connects Bedwell Harbour with Port Browning. The canal was first dredged in 1902 to make the canal large enough for the steamship, the Iroquois, to traverse from the Hope Bay dock on North Pender to Sidney, a far safer and shorter route than around South Pender. Later, in 1955, the islands were joined again by a picturesque one lane bridge. Artifacts found during an archeological dig in the 70’s show native use of this area some 5,000 years ago.
Mortimer Spit is seen on the far side of the bridge in this aerial photograph.